"I will endeavor to retain the spirit of youth"
~Sigma Chi Creed, George Ade ΔΔ 1887

Classes Share Memories at Reunion Get Togethers

Tailgating Bro’s of 1976 (L-R) Robert Haehl, Pete Worland, Steve Blickenstaff, Dave Moss, Dan Connor and Don Palmer

The Classes of 1976 and 1996 returned this fall to celebrate their 40th and 20th year reunions since leaving the familiar confines of Delta Delta and Purdue.

40 Year Class Reunion

The Class of ’76 started its triumphant return at Harry’s for beverages Friday afternoon and proceeded to Sargent Preston's for dinner. On Saturday several of the brother’s attended the Significant Sig presentation held at the chapter house for Pat Loehrer ‘75, who was Don Palmer ‘76’s big brother.

The returning brothers then gathered at a tailgate hosted by Robert and Richard Haehl in the F Lot before heading off to the game.

It was great having this group of brothers return. As a class they had a number of great memories to share and according to Don Palmer ’76, “It was a truly special couple of days seeing everyone back together again.”

Class of ’76 (L-R)Dan Connor, Bill Freije, Don Palmer, Steve Blickenstaff, Steve Schmidt, Dave Moss, Richard Haehl, Lynn Schilling, Robert Haehl and Pete Worland.

20 Year Class Reunion

The class of 1996 assembled to celebrate their 20th reunion the weekend of September 23-24. For much of the group, the festivities began that Friday in Culver, IN where they enjoyed a day of waterskiing and wakeboarding followed by an evening of brotherhood and fellowship.

However, the highlight of the weekend was Saturday when 19 members of the pledge class traveled to West Lafayette to witness a Boilermaker victory and spend time at 202 Littleton reminiscing about their time at the house. For many, this was their first trip to the chapter house since the renovation. House Corp president, Tom Hall, led the group on a tour of how things have changed since 1996; and Phil Steele stopped by to visit with our class, who were pledges when he began his role as chapter advisor in 1992.

Ever the competitive group, "The Ego Class" even found time for a round of Spike Ball in the Great Hall. Pledge class president Morgan Zaninovich noted, "Our pledge class has been fortunate to have many occasions to reunite over the years, but there's something special about getting back to Delta Delta. This place makes us all feel like we are 20-year olds again."

Class of ‘96 (L-R): Steve Clark, Adam Nuhfer, Travis Behrens, Jason Hamer, Dan Elmhurst, Dustin Fox, Geoffrey Ley, Nathan Harris, Taylor Phillips, T.J. Butler, Brian Schultz, Noah Glazov, Michael Antonelli, Spencer Olsen, Jim Farrell, Jake Henry, Walt Norfleet, Morgan Zaninovich, and Bryce Brumm.