Grand Prix Teams Learn from 2023 Experience

This year our Grand Prix kart drivers were Brendan Trent ’23 who drove our veteran kart and Eddie Becker ‘25 raced our rookie kart. Brendan qualified 18th in the veteran kart, but unfortunately Eddie did not qualify for the race this year.
GP 2023 Ryder Elitharpe

Crew Chief Ryder Elitharp ’23 (L) and Driver Brendan Trent ’23

Some Bad Luck Takes Out Sigs

During the race Brendan made his way from his starting position of 18th to 8th place when our kart had a flat tire 3/4 of the way through the race. After replacing the tire, Brendan came out in the 15th spot and was able to make his way back up to 13th when we ran out of time and the race ended.

We had outstanding participation from this year’s team that consisted of 2 seniors, 2 juniors, 5 sophomores, and 2 freshmen which was a significant improvement in involvement compared to last year. The incoming crew chiefs will be Erik Raume ‘25 and Shane Bradley ‘25. Eddie Becker will return as one of our drivers, with a driver spot opening up with the graduation of Brendan Trent.

Alumni Support Greatly Appreciated

Ryder Elitharp ’23, who has led our Grand Prix efforts for the past two years, has also competed in his last Grand Prix.  Ryder would like to thank all our dedicated alumni who continue to financially support our GP teams.  Your support has been instrumental in our ongoing participation and success.

Drivers & Crew Chiefs 2023

Crew chiefs and drivers of Sig karts

Sig cart teams 2023

Pit crews and drivers of both Sig Grand Prix karts.

Sig pit crews 2023

Strong participation bodes well for Sig’s Grand Prix future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *